Are you considering driving for Uber, or are you already driving for Uber, yet you are facing DUI charges in Virginia? And what happens if you have a DUI conviction on your record? Whether or not you are planning to or are currently working for a rideshare company like Uber or Lyft, you need to understand that convictions for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) are extremely serious, and you could lose your chance to drive for Uber. As such, it is critical to discuss your case with a Manassas criminal defense attorney as soon as you can. The dedicated Virginia DUI defense lawyers at our firm can talk with you about the repercussions of a DUI and can help you to develop a defense strategy in order to stand your best chance of beating the charges you are facing.
Uber Will Conduct a Background Check If You Are Applying to Be a Driver
If you have recently been charged with driving while intoxicated in Virginia (Code of Va. § 18.2-266) and you have also applied to be an Uber driver, you should know that Uber’s policy is to conduct a pretty extensive background check on anyone who wants to be a driver. There are a number of requirements when it comes to driving for Uber in general, which include the following in Virginia:
- You must be at least 21 years old;
- You must have at least one year of driving experience in the U.S., and that requirement increases to 3 years if you are under the age of 23;
- You must have a valid driver’s license;
- You must have a four-door vehicle;
- Your vehicle cannot be any older than 15 years old;
- Your vehicle must pass an inspection;
- Your vehicle cannot have any commercial damage;
- You must have and maintain your own auto insurance policy; and
- You must be able to pass an Uber background check.
In that background check, Uber will look to see whether you have a criminal record. In looking for evidence of a criminal record, Uber will look to see if you have a DUI/DWI conviction.
You May Not Be Able to Drive for Uber If You Have a DUI/DWI Conviction
With a conviction, you will first face the immediate risk of having your license suspended for up to one year according to Virginia law as a penalty for even a first-time offender (which could prevent you from driving for a living). Yet if Uber discovers that you have a DUI/DWI on your record, you can be prohibited from driving for Uber.
If you are applying for a job with Uber, a misdemeanor DUI/DWI conviction can prevent you from driving for Uber if you were convicted within the last seven years. If you have a felony DUI/DWI on your record, you may never be able to drive for Uber. In Virginia, a third or subsequent DWI conviction will be a felony conviction.
What will happen if you are already driving for Uber and you are charged with a DWI in Virginia? Uber reports that it conducts background checks on existing drivers, and it does these checks every 18 to 24 months. Accordingly, if you were recently charged with a DWI and you are convicted, Uber can prevent you from continuing to drive even if you do not lose your license.
Contact a Virginia DWI Defense Attorney
Given that a DWI conviction can prevent you from driving for Uber and other rideshare companies, it is essential to fight the charges you are facing with assistance from an experienced Manassas DWI defense lawyer. One of the Virginia criminal defense attorneys at our firm can speak with you today about your case. Contact Dougherty Tobias Iszard, Northern Virginia Law, P.C. for more information about DWI defense strategies that could be applicable to your case.